Woman chews on pen in frustration while looking at laptop screen

How to Cancel Zoom Subscription in 60 Seconds or Less

You’d think that to cancel Zoom Pro, all you’d have to do is click a nice big button that says “Cancel Zoom Subscription” on it in bold letters. Well, that’s not too far from the truth. The question is: where can you find this elusive button?

Before you start pulling your hair out, it’s a lot easier to find than you might think. In fact, if you have a timer handy, I’d wager you could do it in under 60 seconds.

Ready, set, GO!

How to Cancel Zoom on Your Browser

There are 5 super easy steps to follow:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click My Account in the top right, then select Account Management from the navigation bar on the left, and click on Billing.
  3. Under the Current Plans tab, select Cancel Subscription on the plan you wish to cancel. This will stop your subscription from renewing automatically.
  4. Confirm your request by tapping Cancel Subscription.
  5. Choose why you’d like to cancel your Zoom subscription, and click Submit. Alternatively, just click No, Thanks.

Voila. Wasn’t that hard, was it?

It’s also worth noting that you’ll still have access to your paid plan for the remainder of your subscription term.

How to Cancel Zoom on Android

If you have the Android Zoom app, you can cancel your paid plan through the Google Play Store:

  1. Open the Play Store App.
  2. Tap on your profile icon in the top right.
  3. Tap Payment and Subscriptions.
  4. Go on Subscriptions to see a list of all your Google Play subscriptions.
  5. Tap on your Zoom subscription.
  6. Select Cancel Subscription.
  7. A confirmation message will appear, asking whether you really want to cancel your Zoom account’s paid plan. Select Confirm.

How to Cancel Zoom on iOS

For iPhone users, it’s just as simple to end your subscription:

  1. Open the App Store.
  2. Tap on your profile icon in the top right.
  3. Select Subscriptions.
  4. Tap on your Zoom subscription.
  5. Select Cancel Subscription.

As with the web version, you will still have access to your Zoom Pro benefits until the final date of your billing cycle if you cancel via mobile.

FAQ for Cancelling a Zoom Subscription

Can I Cancel Zoom Pro After One Month?

You can cancel your Zoom subscription at any time before the next billing cycle by following the steps outlined above.

You will still be able to access your paid benefits until the end of your billing cycle.

Can I Still Store Zoom Recordings in the Cloud on a Free Plan?

Yes and no.

Can you do it through Zoom? Unfortunately not. With the free Zoom plan, you can only store recordings locally (on your computer or hard drive).

We know it’s a bit of a PITA which is why tl;dv is free!

As a free alternative to a Zoom paid plan, tl;dv does allow you to store your recordings on the cloud. Not only that, but it empowers you to do a lot more with your Zoom calls too! tl;dv can transcribe your meetings in more than 20 languages, as well as allow you to set timestamps and highlights so that your colleagues or friends can jump to the most important parts. Editing Zoom video also becomes a breeze with the handy tl;dv clipper tool. But the best part? You get unlimited recordings! 😏

Did we mention it’s free?

You can download tl;dv to record with Zoom, or if you’re making the switch to Google Meet, you can get it as a browser extension.

What’s the Difference Between Canceling a Zoom Subscription and Deleting a Zoom Account?

By choosing to cancel Zoom Pro, you are able to reactivate your plan whenever you feel like it. You can still use the free plan, the only difference is that you will lose access to the paid plan benefits at the end of your final billing period.

When you delete a Zoom account, you are permanently deleting the account so that you will not be able to use it again, even on the free version. That means no more funny Zoom backgrounds for you.

How Do I Close a Zoom Account?

To permanently close and cancel a Zoom account, you must first unsubscribe from any paid plans using the steps above. Once you are on the free plan, do the following:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click My Account in the top right, then select Account
  3. Management from the navigation bar on the left, and choose Account Profile.
  4. Click Terminate My Account.
  5. A confirmation box will pop up asking if you are sure you want to delete your Zoom account. Select Yes to permanently terminate your Zoom account.
  6. You will be redirected to the homepage and briefly shown a message that says the termination of your account was successful.